Welcome to the @ web one blog

Domain name spam

Several clients have been in contact with us this week enquiring about an email they received relating to their domain name.

Here is an example

Dear @ xxxxx ,

We are a domain name registration center. We have something important need to confirm with you. On the July 19th, 2009, We received an application formally, one company named ” xxxx Investment Ltd” wanted to register ” xxxx ” as their euro-american & asia-pacific domain names and Internet brand. After our initial examination, we found that this application issue involved your company name or trademark, Considering this may bring something effect to your company, so we inform you in no time.

In order to deal with this issue better, Please let the Principal contact us directly and as soon as possible if you considered these domain names and internet brand are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first.

We view your feedback very seriously and seek your kind cooperation in this matter! Thank you!

Kind regards,
Richard Davis

Senior Consulting Director

Internet Brand Security & Protection Dept.
Asia Internet Network Information Center
Brand Security Solutions Ltd
(Branch Office)
Tel: +86-10101-75620-6698 ext.802 (Mon–Fri, 9am to 6:30pm,GMT+8)
Mail: Richard.Davis@BrandSecuritySolutions.com

The above all looks pretty official and believable – there is no hard sell.

We warn you that it is a rip off. The whole ideal is to sell you new domain names, normally .ch or .hk or other obscure (for us) domain names.

We strongly suggest that you do not respond and throw the email in the trash

Filed under:@ web one stuff

13 Responses to “Domain name spam”

  • Kerry Porter Says:

    Thanks for that information-
    I haven’t had this happen yet, but I will be prepared when it does.

  • Pete Morrison Says:

    Yes we too have received such an email

  • Tom Winand Says:

    Thanks for the info I hate that and the renewal notices I get 1 month before a domain expires asking me to renew it for $30.

    salt lake homes for sale

  • Ellee Says:

    Thanks for the heads up on that little scam! I haven’t received it yet, but aside from working as a mortgage broker, I also work part time as a virtual assistant and as such register domain names quite frequently.

    Ellee

  • Trelise Says:

    This email arrived to us today, have taken your advice. Thanks.

  • Pascuale Vincitore Says:

    We receive the mail with spam of reference. We have follow your advice strongly suggesting that we do not respond and throw the email in the trash.
    Thank you very much.
    Pascuale
    Italy

  • Steve Green Says:

    Thank you. This company now seems to be targetting New Zealand companies.

  • Deanna Corbett Says:

    Thank you for this post. We received the same email today. Interestingly the supposed competing company name was in exactly the same format as above: “(ourbrandname) Investments Ltd”.

  • Ross Stewart Says:

    Yep, we were targetted today and what aroused my suspicion is that for an English-sounding name, Richard Davis, there were a number of simple errors of grammar. Garbage, in fact. Then I googled the name and found this. Phew, thanks.
    Doesn’t it make you want to send a screamer back to the !@#$% !!

  • Kyle D Jan Says:

    Thank you for the information. It is important to know. I am sure you will stop many people from being taken advantage of. Thanks again.

  • Bakos Says:

    Hi, thanks for this post. We received this solicitation today and am happy to read that this has happened before and the suggestion is to trash it.

  • Richard Good Says:

    Thanks for the info. From the bad grammar (and the odd phone number) it looked like a scam , but it is good to be reassured.

    I Googled & found your website

  • Mike Says:

    Thanks Pete blog and all the people who have added their comments. We received an identical email request today. Looks like NZ are next inline for these spam emails. Good to find this info on internet

Leave a Reply