Welcome to the @ web one blog

Phishing email claiming to be from Google adwords

Ok, after years of warning clients to be careful what links and attachments they open from emails I got caught out.

Received an email from Google-AdWords-noreply <[email protected]> – subject line read: Your Account with Google AdWords – a few mins ago, saying they could not process my payment and my ads would be suspended. Like a dummy, I clicked on the link which I did not notice any thing out of the ordinary. but it took me to http://www.adwords.google.com.lingst.cn/select/Login/ (did not notice the cn (Canada top level domain at the end) – fortunately I could not remember my adwords password, and clicked "I cannot access my account", and was linked to the legit google site.

To cut a long story short, I then realised that the mail address this phishing email had come to did not have a google adword account, and that caused me to dig a little deeper.

The email address appeared to be sent from a hotmail account – ah ha – clang – penny dropped.

The domain name lingst.cn appears to actually be hosted in Romania, which is where a lot of phishing attacks originate from. The 2 emails received on our email server to date originated from China and the USA

Be careful out there

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

*